Preview Ticket Comments

Zach Dennis's Avatar

Zach Dennis

11 Mar, 2008 01:44 PM

When commenting on a ticket you can update the ticket, but you can't preview your comments. It seems like you should be able to get some kind of preview.

  1. 1 Posted by Rick on 11 Mar, 2008 06:11 PM

    Rick's Avatar

    I suppose, but you can also easily edit the comment if there's a typo.

  2. 2 Posted by Will Duncan on 11 Mar, 2008 08:50 PM

    Will Duncan's Avatar

    I take extreme advantage of the spell check in my browser! without it I would look even more lame than I already am.

    However, as I'm not quite sure if I want to have to preview a comment, but since it jets out straight to email as well, which editing the ticket doesnt change, it might be a nice feature for Rick to add in down the road when he has a weekend off (not like that will happen anytime soon as busy as he is). On the flipside, I don't really get the difference from previewing a comment and just rereading it, maybe its a proof thing, where its formatted you pay more attention?

  3. 3 Posted by Rick on 20 Mar, 2008 12:06 AM

    Rick's Avatar

    We'll probably add some preview just so that bad typos don't go out via emails.

  4. 4 Posted by System on 21 Jan, 2009 08:52 PM

    System's Avatar

    This discussion was assigned to Jeremy McAnally, on ticket 55.

  5. 5 Posted by mzadmin on 02 Apr, 2009 05:10 PM

    mzadmin's Avatar

    More than just typos, if you have complex steps to reproduce or code blocks or lots of markup, its nice to be able to tweak formatting so others can understand what you're trying to say. I agree that a preview option would be great for that.

  6. 6 Posted by Adam Meehan on 09 Apr, 2009 08:59 PM

    Adam Meehan's Avatar

    Preview is really about the formatting checks. Line breaks always get me and other formatting often goes astray. I always forget edit is there.

  7. 7 Posted by nefar on 22 May, 2009 03:57 PM

    nefar's Avatar

    At least put the 'edit ticket' button in the lower right. Upper left with the colors it currently has makes it really hard to find.

    +1 for getting a preview.

  8. 8 Posted by sbwoodside on 26 May, 2009 04:10 AM

    sbwoodside's Avatar

    +1 for preview new ticket and comments.... serious pain...

  9. 9 Posted by Will Duncan on 26 May, 2009 05:47 AM

    Will Duncan's Avatar

    Preview is in the works and probably within the next 2-4 weeks.

  10. 10 Posted by Matt Lyon on 04 Jan, 2010 11:46 PM

    Matt Lyon's Avatar

    we've added a preview feature to tickets now. thanks!

  11. Matt Lyon closed this discussion on 04 Jan, 2010 11:46 PM.

Discussions are closed to public comments.
If you need help with Lighthouse please start a new discussion.

Keyboard shortcuts

Generic

? Show this help
ESC Blurs the current field

Comment Form

r Focus the comment reply box
^ + ↩ Submit the comment

You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac