losing changes in a ticket if two people have it open
To reproduce:
1) person A opens a ticket
2) person B opens the same ticket
3) person B adds a tag, clicks on save
4) person A adds a comment, clicks on save
the result is the tag is lost, and it shows as if person A cleared the tag
Discussions are closed to public comments.
If you need help with Lighthouse please
start a new discussion.
Keyboard shortcuts
Generic
| ? | Show this help |
|---|---|
| ESC | Blurs the current field |
Comment Form
| r | Focus the comment reply box |
|---|---|
| ^ + ↩ | Submit the comment |
You can use Command ⌘ instead of Control ^ on Mac
1 Posted by Justin Palmer on 09 Dec, 2009 07:21 PM
I think this is an issue for any collaborative web application. If two people open the same form the person who saves last will always overwrite the changes of the person who saved first. While it's rare, but annoying when it happens, I think this is where I'd just toss the tag back in that person B added.
I'll see if there is anything we can do, but I think trying to solve this in code would yield subpar results and someone's stuff would still get overwritten.
2 Posted by Gal Steinitz on 09 Dec, 2009 07:46 PM
In case your engineers do want to tackle this, here are two potential solutions that are typically implemented in a situations such as these:
easier to implement, less friendly:
1) embed a timestamp on the form that gets regenerated every time the form is rendered and saved to the DB. If the timestamp doesn't match, you know someone has opened and saved the form after this form was opened and you can display an error.
a bit more complicated to implement but much more friendly:
2) store the before value for each field, and only issue updates to the DB for those values that have changed.
3 Posted by Erik Hesselink on 06 Sep, 2010 04:43 PM
I've been bitten by this a couple of times. A warning based on a timestamp would be a simple and very welcome solution.
Nicole closed this discussion on 02 Jul, 2012 08:55 PM.